Yuvraj Named in Team India’s Australia Squad


New Delhi: The Indian team for the tour of Australia was announced on Saturday by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) with Yuvraj Singh making a comeback.

Pacer Mohammed Shami and all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja made a comeback to the India squad for the ODI and T20 series in Australia. India will play five ODIs and three T20Is against Australia starting January 12. Ashish Nehra is a consistent performer in T20 format. He will be useful in the team: Sandeep Patil.

Suresh Raina has surprisingly been left out for the ODI series while the left-hander found a place for the T20 matches against Australia.

Punjab left-arm seamer Brainder Sran has been given the maiden ODI call up. Sran has played just one IPL game for Rajasthan Royals to go with his 34 wickets from 11 first-class games and 14 wickets in six matches in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Shami, who was India’s second-highest wicket-taker at the World Cup with 17 scalps, has not played international cricket since then. Shami recently returned to competitive cricket after missing the IPL and the start of the domestic season. Having fully recovered from the knee injury sustained in Australia a year ago, the 25-year-old has featured in two of Bengal’s five matches in Vijay Hazare Trophy, with returns of three wickets an average of 30.66 apiece, a strike-rate of 36 and economy rate of 5.11 from 18 overs bowled.

Jadeja’s stupendous show against the recently concluded home Test series against South Africa which India won 3-0, earned him a place in the squad. However, he was dropped for the ODI series in Zimbabwe and against South Africa.

India ODI Squad: Shikhar, Rohit, Virat, Rahane, Manish, MSD (C), Ashwin,Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Axar, Ishant, Umesh, Gurkeerat, Rishi, Sran

India T20 Squad: Shikhar, Rohit, Virat,Rahane, Yuvraj, MSD (C),Raina, Ashwin, Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Harbhajan, Umesh, Hardik, Bhuvi, Nehra