‘Virat’ Victory For India, Pakistan Cut To Size


Kolkata:  India: 119/4 15.5         Pakistan: 118/5 18

Hosts India revived their World Twenty20 hopes by beating fierce rivals Pakistan by six wickets in Kolkata.

On a difficult surface in a rain-affected match of 18 overs a side, Virat Kohli’s unbeaten 55 took India to their target of 119 in 15.5 overs.

What a moment….Bachchan waving the Indian tricolour with such vigour. The finals have been played.

It’s all over! India won by 6 wickets.

15.2: M Irfan to V Kohli (54), 4 runs, 111/4.

Kohli makes 50. India 105/4. India after 15 over 106/4.

Brilliant batting by Virat Kohli. India need 19 runs off the last 23 balls to win the match.

3.6: M Amir to V Kohli (45), 4 runs, 99/4.

Captain cool doesn’t like helmet, sheer confidence. India after 13 over 91/4.

Yuvi out. WICKET! Yuvraj Singh c Mohammad Sami b Wahab Riaz 24 (23b). India 84/4.

India on fire! Yuvraj smashes a 6.

11.1: Wahab Riaz to Y Singh (22), 6 runs, 80/3.

India need 45 runs in 42 balls.

10.3: S Malik to V Kohli, 6 runs, 70/3.

After 10 over India 60/3.

9.1: Wahab Riaz to V Kohli (19), 4 runs, 59/3.

Kohli and Yuvraj are playing calmly. That’s what need now. 54/3 in 9.


After 7 India 40/3.

India need 81 runs in 68 balls.

Sami to Yuvraj, FOUR, to sweeper cover.

After 5 India 23/3.

4.4: WICKET! S Raina (0) is out, b Mohammad Sami, 23/3

4.3: WICKET! S Dhawan (6) is out, b Mohammad Sami, 23/2

4! Dhawan finally strokes the ball to the boundary line.

India 18/1 in 4 overs. 

17/1 in 3.1. Amir has kept things tight for India.

2.1: WICKET! RG Sharma (10) is out, c Shoaib Malik b Mohammad Amir, 14/1

1.6: M Irfan to RG Sharma, 4 runs, 14/0.

FOUR! Rohit cuts Irfan off the back-foot over point.

Rohit and Dhawan are at the crease. Rohit is on strike. Amir will open the attack.

PAK 118/5 (18.0 Ov) vs India. Sarfraz Ahmed 8 (6b, 1×4,0x6), Mohammad Hafeez 5 (5b,0x4,0x6).

111/5. One over to go. Pakistan will look to make the most of this one.

Nehra gets his man! Malik cramped for room. Lobs it up for a simple catch! Pak: 105/5 (16.2)

Nehra to Shoaib Malik, out Caught by Ashwin!! Shoaib Malik c Ashwin b Nehra.

Jadeja has Akmal caught behind for 22. Pakistan 103 for 4 in 16 overs.

Sharp catch by Dhoni as Umar Akmal is caught behind off Ravindra Jadeja

Shoaib Malik hits Ravindra Jadeja for a 4! 100/3 (15.3 Ov)

Last two overs Pakistan have scored 28 runs in total.

13.6: H Pandya to U Akmal, 6 runs, 82/3.

Malik launches into that for a 93 meter six! First of their innings!

Ravindra Jadeja’s throw costs India four extra runs. PAK 65/3 in 12.

Boom Boom Afridi departs as Kohli pulls off a good catch in the deep.

10 overs gone & Pakistan are 51/2.

Another Gone….9.2: WICKET! A Shehzad (25) is out, c Ravindra Jadeja b Jasprit Bumrah, 46/2.

Pakistan 39/1 in 8 overs Shehzad 19, Afridi 0.

Afridi is the next batsman in. Interesting move at the top for Pakistan.

What  a catch……Thats out. WICKET! Raina strikes as Pandya takes a blinder! Sharjeel (17).

After 6 overs, Pakistan are at 28-0. Team India are doing well to contain the Pakistani batsman.

Pakistan openers struggling with their timing but they race away to 24/0 (5 ov) on a tough pitch.

Bowling change. Bumrah replaces Nehra in the attack.

After 4 over Pakistan 19/0.
Pakistan 12/0 (3 ovs) vs India.

Excellent over from Ashwin. Turn and bounce already. Just two off the over.

Three from the first over. Ashwin starts the second over.

20:31 Ashish Nehra has the new ball. He is looking all set. Sharjeel Khan and Mohammad Hafeez are at the crease for Pakistan

The two teams are walking out for the national anthems. Sourav Ganguly led the way with the World T20 trophy in his hand. Mamata Banerjee is also there.

India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni(w/c), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah

Pakistan (Playing XI): Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed(w), Shahid Afridi(c), Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Sami, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Irfan

India Won the Toss and elects To Bowl first.

Looks like will have a toss at 8.10pm with 8.30pm start and 18 overs a side.


19.57: Nice to see the stalwarts from Pakistan, we welcome them here. Sachin Tendulkar at Eden.

19.48: I want to thank Sourav Ganguly and the Cricket Association of Bengal for inviting me here. May the better team win. May the peace prevail between Pakistan and India: Amithab Bachchan.


Thank you so much for organising the big event in Kolkata. We’ll give the necessary security for the matches in Kolkata: West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee


19:24 : No updates on the toss yet.  As we said earlier we’ll lose overs from 20.15 IST

19:10 : The covers have been removed from the ground. The umpires are out on the field.

18.56: Good news! The covers are being removed from the ground. Sourav Ganguly is out on the field and having a chat with one of the groundsmen.


18.45: Amitab Bachchan is at the Eden Garden For singing national song. Sachin’s plane couldn’t land hence due to rain.


18.12:  Light drizzle at Eden. It has nearly stopped. The Super Soppers are at work.