Will Be Crushed Under Wheels Of Democracy, Says Locket


Howrah: Trying to pacify what she had said earlier, BJP leader Locket Chatterjee on Sunday said that those trying to stop the BJP’s Rath Yatra will be crushed under the wheels of democracy.

On Saturday, Chatterjee said, “The main purpose of the rath yatras is to restore democracy in West Bengal. We have said this earlier too that the heads of those who try to stop the ‘rath yatras’ will get crushed under the wheels of the chariot.”

Soon after she said this, the opposition termed this as a threat and accused the party of trying to spread violence in the name of Rath Yatra.

Addressing a press conference at Howrah, Locket said, “It can be well understood that they only understand this language. It means that soon after what I said yesterday, hatred was being spread and chaos was sparked. It means their people are habituated in this language only and with such a mentality, are speaking in such a language. From this, they are saying that I have spoken of murder. I hope that they know that this journey is the journey of saving our democracy. Democracy has been killed in this state. This journey is being done to save this democracy only. Those who will try to stop it, they will be termed as anti-democratic and hence will be crushed under the wheels of democracy. If that is termed as murder, then it is so, because they love to hear this language.”

Locket further added, “What have we seen in Panchayats till date. We are telling verbally of crushing under the wheels. But no one has gone to Islampur yet where two students died. Their families have buried their bodies for CBI investigation. But the CM is going to North Bengal through this place, but has not visited them yet. What type of inhuman work is this? Panic will naturally spread there and the anger of the people will get reflected when this democratic yatra will begin. At that time if the TMC goons try and stop, then the common people will throw them.”

This meeting was attended by Tushar Kanti Ghosh, Dr. Subhas Sarkar, Debashree Chowdhury, Ujjwal Parikh, Umesh Rai, Surajit Saha, Durgabati Singh, Gita Rai and others.