WhatsApp will stop working for a number of users at the end of this week, the company has confirmed.
The hugely-successful messenger app will drop support for BlackBerry OS, BlackBerry 10, Windows Phone 8.0 and older, on December 31st 2017.
WhatsApp has originally told users support for these ageing mobile platforms would be dropped by the end of 2016.
But as the end of the year drew close, the Facebook-owned updated its blog post, informing users the deadline had been pushed back to June 30, 2017.
A further update extended the deadline again until December 31st 2017. WhatsApp has clarified that Nokia S40 will no longer work after December 31st 2018.
Meanwhile, Android OS version 2.3.7 and older will stop functioning correctly after February 1st 2020.
According to the popular messaging app, “because we will no longer actively develop for these platforms, some features may stop functioning at any time.”
Since WhatsApp will no longer be actively developing these platforms, don’t expect to get your hands on any new features either.
Likewise, glitches and bugs within the app will not be fixed with software updates. In a nutshell, if you rely on WhatsApp every day in either your professional or personal life – it might be time to think about a new phone.
The news comes as WhatsApp rolled-out the ability to delete sent messages. WhatsApp users will be able to delete messages that they have either sent to a group or an individual chat.
Messages that have been successfully deleted in a chat will be replaced by “this message was deleted”.
There is one catch though – WhatsApp users are only able to delete messages within seven minutes of sending it.
The WhatsApp team said: “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat.
“This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.
“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats. “Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”