WhatsApp Rolls Out ‘Delete For Everyone’ Message Feature

0
226

Washington: WhatsApp has started to roll out its ‘delete for everyone’ feature for Android, iOS, and Windows users, according to a report in WABetaInfo. You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. “Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone,” Facebook-owned WhatsApp said in its updated FAQ on Friday.

“In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both you and your recipient must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone,” the micro-blogging platform said.

WhatsApp was working on this feature for almost a year. You can now delete messages for everyone or just for yourself. “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake,” WhatsApp noted.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats. Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete. Tap and hold the message and choose Delete from the menu. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once. Then tap “Delete for everyone”.

“If you or your recipient is not using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, this feature will not be supported,” WhatsApp said. Recipients may see your message before it’s deleted or if the deletion was not successful.

According to WABetaInfo, a fan website that tracks WhatsApp, this feature works for messages in text, videos, GIFs, pictures, voice messages, quoted messages and status replies.

---