West Indies Announces 15-Man Squad For ICC World Cup 2019


Kingstown: The 12th edition of the ICC World Cup 2019 will begin on May 30, 2019, and will be hosted by England and Wales. One of the most dominant teams in the initial period of ODI cricket was the West Indies team, which won the first two editions of the tournament in 1975 and 1979.

Under the leadership of Clive Lloyd, the West Indies team dominated the tournament in the first two editions, while doing very good in subsequent editions as well, reaching semi-finals in World Cup 1996. However, the past few World Cups has seen the Windies team not performing upto the mark and though they made the quarterfinals of the ICC World Cup 2015 in Australia and New Zealand, much of their squad has been hurt by the dispute between the players and the board.

However, the change in the leadership in Cricket West Indies has led to positivity in the team and the CWI recently announced its 15-man squad for the upcoming mega ICC event. The squad sees Chris Gayle, Andres Russell, Darren Bravo, and Kemar Roach as the experienced players. Jason Holder will lead the team with Nicholas Pooran and Shai Hope as wicketkeepers. Young quicks like Oshane Thomas, Sheldon Cottrell, and Shannon Gabriel make the cut.

Amonsgt surprise and noteworthy omissions were Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine.