West Bengal Transport Corporation Constituted


Kolkata: The integrated board of the three transport corporations has been named as the West Bengal Transport Corporation. It may be recalled that an integrated board for Calcutta State Transport Corporation (CSTC), Calcutta Tramways Company (CTC) and West Bengal Surface Transport Corporation (WBSTC) was constituted to ensure better transport facility.

The step was also taken to ensure that the losses incurred by the corporations could be reduced. The decision on integration of the three crucial transport corporations was taken on June 8.

The integrated board, with the new name, will also get its own logo and the transport department had approached Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee to draw a logo for the West Bengal Transport Corporation.

The West Bengal Chief Minister had drawn logos of several projects of the transport department earlier, including one that of the Gatidhara scheme. Rachpal Singh, the MLA from Tarakeswar, was made the chairman of the integrated board for CSTC, CTC and WBSTC. Entally MLA Swarnakamal Saha was appointed the vice-chairman of the board.

Nayna Bandyapadhyay, MLA from Chowringhee Assembly constituency and Sujit Bose from Bidhannagar Assembly constituency were inducted as the two directors of the newly formed board.