WB Panchayat Polls: TMC Marks Victory In North, South Dinajpur


Balurghat: Trinamool Congress has scripted a resounding victory in the rural polls bagging more than 85 per cent of the seats, while the BJP came a distant second.

The ruling Trinamool Congress has witnessed a massive victory in both South and North Dinajpur districts in the rural polls. Of the 64 Gram Panchayat seats, Trinamool has captured 42, while BJP, Left and Independents have won 9, 1 and 12 seats respectively.

In South Dinajpur, out of 18 Zilla Parishad seats, Trinamool has bagged all seats, leaving other Opposition parties blank. The picture remains same for Panchayat Samities in the district as well, with all eight PS won by the party.

In North Dinajpur, the so called Congress citadel was captured by Trinamool, where it has sprung a surprise by its near sweep in all the three tiers, deemed as a Congress belt for long.

Of 26 Zilla Parishad seats, Trinamool has won 24 seats, while BJP and Left have only managed to secure 1 seat each. Of 9 PS, Trinamool has bagged 8, leaving a sole seat for Independents. Of 98 GPs, Trinamool has captured 55 seats. BJP, Left and Independents have secured 15, 2 and 26 seats respectively.