WB Panchayat Polls: TMC Bags Zila Parishad Seats In 3 Districts

- Advertisement -

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress candidates have won the Zilla Parishad in the districts of Birbhum, Murshidabad and Bankura uncontested. The three-tier Panchayat election is scheduled to be held on May 14.

Out of 48,650 Gram Panchayat seats, Trinamool Congress has bagged 16,814 seats uncontested, while in Panchayat Samity and Zilla Parishad, the party has bagged 3,059 and 203 seats respectively, uncontested.

- Advertisement -

There are 48,650 Gram Panchayat seats, followed by 9,217 Panchayat Samity seats and 825 Zilla Parishad seats. The three-tier Panchayat elections began in 1978, after the Left Front came to power in 1977.

In Birbhum, Trinamool Congress candidates have won in all the 42 ZP seats. In Murshidabad, Trinamool Congress candidates have won in 48 out of 70 seats.

In Murshidabad, Trinamool got control over all the civic bodies. The victory of 48 candidates without contest shows the organisational strength of the party.. It was the fiefdom of Adhir Chowdhury, WBPCC president.

In Bankura, Trinamool candidates have won 31 out of 46 seats in Zilla Parishad. It may be mentioned that a vernacular television channel on Friday began to telecast that out of 46 seats, Trinamool will win in only 13 seats. However, after the withdrawal of nominations, it was found that Trinamool candidates have won in 31 seats.