WB Govt Gives 1 Time 100% Waiver On Road Tax Penalty


Kolkata: West Bengal Government has announced a one-time 100 per cent waiver on penalty on due road tax on motor vehicles, for those who have not paid the tax till December 31, 2018.

The last date of submission of the tax has been decided as January 31. Paying after that would entail payment of penalty as usual. There is an exception to the 100 per cent waiver that needs to be noted: This scheme is not valid on commercial vehicles of the Kolkata Metropolitan Area (KMA) that are more than 15 years old.

The due road tax can be paid either online, through the website of the Road Transport and Highways Ministry (beginning by submitting the vehicle registration number) or offline, at the respective Regional Transport Office (RTO) or Additional Road Transport Office (ARTO).