WB Gets Only 2 State Ministers, None Took Oath in Bengali


New Delhi: Despite electing 18 MPs on BJP tickets this Lok Sabha polls, Bengal has got only two ministers in the second Narendra Modi government which sworn-in in New Delhi at 30 May evening.

Not only this! Both the ministers from Bengal are in the rank of minister of state and not Cabinet ministers.n 2014, when BJP won only two seats from Bengal, both the MPs were made ministers in the first Modi government.

The two MPs who have been included in the ministry this time are Asansol MP Babul Supriyo and Raiganj MP Debasree Chaudhuri.Also, unlike the expectations from Bengal, none of them took the oath of office in Bengali. They took the oath in English.

Supriyo was a minister of state for heavy industries and public enterprises in the first Modi government. Retaining him as a junior minister again could mean that his performance was not up to the mark and hence, has been denied a promotion by the Prime Minister.