Warner, Bhuvi lead SRH to maiden IPL title


Bengaluru: Heroics from batting stalwarts Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli went in vain as the David Warner led-Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) clinched their maiden Indian Premier League title beating Royal Challengers Bangalore by eight runs in a thrilling contest here at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on Sunday.

Chasing a daunting total of 209, the Virat Kohli led-side managed to score 200 for the loss of seven wickets.

Gayle (76) and Kohli (54) did provide the Bangalore franchise a ray of hope to clinch their first IPL title by scoring 114 runs for the opening stand.

However, once the duo went, the team kept on losing wickets at regular intervals and fell short of the target in their stipulated 20 overs.

Earlier, Warner (69) continued his stupendous form and scored his ninth fifty of this season to take his team to a mamoth total of 208.

Before tonight’s title clash, the RCB had made two final appearances in the IPL, losing both (in 2009 to the Deccan Chargers and in 2011 to the Chennai Super Kings).