Virat Kohli, Other Athletes Receive Padma Shri Award


New Delhi: Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli was awarded the Padma Shri award on Thursday by President Pranab Mukherjee at a ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

একই দিনে তিন অধিনায়কের হাতে পদ্মশ্রী

- Advertisement -

Hockey captain P R Sreejesh and Rio Olympic heroes, wrestler Sakshi Malik and gymnast Dipa Karmakar, were among eight sportspersons who were awarded the Padma Shri this year.


Read More: ‘Virat Should Forget What Happened With Australian Players’

Rio Paralympics medallists Mariyappan Thangavelu and Deepa Malik, discus thrower Vikas Gowda and blind cricket team captain Shekhar Naik have also been honoured. The eight sportspersons were among 89 Padma Awardees announced by the government on the eve of the Republic Day. There were no sportspersons in the list of Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan awardees.