Vijay Rupani To Take Oath As Gujarat CM , PM Likely To Attend


New Delhi: The swearing in ceremony of new BJP government in Gujarat will take place at Gandhinagar Sachivalaya Ground on December 26.

BJP has decided to give Vijay Rupani another term as Gujarat Chief minister and retained Nitin Patel in his deputy’s role.

Both Rupani and Nitin Patel will take oath as Gujarat CM and deputy CM respectively. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah are likely to attend the lavish oath taking ceremony of Vijay Rupani.

Along with Rupani and Patel, new cabinet ministers will also take oath. Earlier on Friday, Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley had announced that Vijay Rupani has been elected the leader of the BJP legislature party in Gujarat, and will continue as state’s chief minister for a second term.

The BJP had registered a sixth straight Assembly poll win in the key western state on December 18, winning 99 seats in the 182-member House. Though the Congress performed its best in many years, winning 77 seats, it could not unseat the BJP.

Chief Minister Rupani and Gujarat Deputy CM Nitin Patel had already tendered their resignations to Governor OP Kohli after BJP’s Gujarat election victory. The 13th Gujarat Assembly was formally dissolved by the Governor while accepting the resignations. Rupani was named as the acting Chief Minister.