In View Of 8th day Of Muharram, Restrictions In Srinagar

- Advertisement -

Srinagar: Authorities imposed restrictions in parts of the city as a preventive measure in view of the eighth day of Muharram. A police official said restrictions have been imposed in eight police station areas of the Jammu and Kashmir summer capital to maintain law and order.

According to the sources, Karan Nagar, Shaheed Gunj, Batamaloo, Shergari, Maisuma, Kothibagh, Kralkhud and Ram Munshi Bagh.

The traditional Muharram procession used to pass through these areas, but have been banned since eruption of militancy in 1990 as authorities maintain that the religious gathering has been used for propagating separatist politics.

- Advertisement -

However, life elsewhere in the valley remained normal