UP: Akhilesh Sacks 8 Ministers


Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav on Thursday sacked eight ministers from his cabinet. Five cabinet ministers and three ministers of state have been sacked from the Akhilesh Yadav government, a Samajwadi Party spokesman said.

The Samajwadi Party feels that the move will present Team Akhilesh as the one firmly in command and could send a strong message before the 2017 assembly elections to those who feel the chief minister doesn’t have a free hand in running the UP government.

On Wednesday Akhilesh had hinted as much that the expansion of the state’s council of ministers would happen after the Bihar assembly elections scheduled to end next month. “Let the elections in Bihar be over,” he had said.

The Uttar Pradesh chief minister met governor Ram Naik on Wednesday to discuss the expansion of his cabinet. Uttar Pradesh has a maximum permissible strength of 60 for the council of ministers.

Previous articleTerror on Mobile, Lashkar Designs Dreaded App
Next articleChina Abandons One-Child Family Policy