Uncontested Win Of TMC In Madarihat Assembly Constituency


Alipurduar: Trinamool has won 19 gram panchayat seats and four panchayat samity seats uncontested in Madarihat Assembly constituency which is represented in the Assembly by the BJP.

Trinamool’s clean sweep has been attributed to the reopening of five of six tea gardens in the Madarihat-Birpara block and alleged pressure tactics deployed by the ruling party to force a few BJP candidates to withdraw nominations on Saturday.

Another factor that contributed to Trinamool’s victory was the setback suffered by the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha in the area in the past one year. Many supporters had left the Morcha, a BJP ally, and joined Trinamul. A number of people are still with the Binay Tamang faction of the Morcha which supports Trinamool.

In Alipurduar district, Trinamool has won 45 gram panchayat seats and seven panchayat samity seats uncontested. There are 999 gram panchayat seats and 188 panchayat samity seats in the district.