Uluberia – Noapara By-Poll: Opposition Demand Re-Election


Barrackpore: The ruling TMC is locked in a high voltage battle with the BJP and the CPI-M in the Uluberia-Noapara,By-Poll elections The seats are likely to witness a direct contest between the ruling Trinamool Congress and the BJP, while the CPI(M) is trying hard to hold its ground in its erstwhile bastions. The Trinamool, however, claimed the election was “free and fair” but the opposition demanded repoll in a number of bodies by deploying central forces.

The opposition Party of the state BJP-Congress and Left Front have demanded a re-election to the Noapara assembly constituency on charges of reckless terrorism. Though according to the Election official, the By-Poll Election Of Uluberia and Noapara was peaceful. Over 76 per cent of the electorate in West Bengal’s Uluberia Lok Sabha constituency and 75.3 per cent in the Noapara Assembly seat voted in the bypolls.

Though the opposition has accused of holding booths against the Trinamool in the elections, however, the Trinamool Congress Party has denied all allegations of holding booths in the election. And also the demand for the re-election has also been dismissed.

Tension spreads from the morning to Noapara election. From the very beginning of the day when the voting was started, various charges have been raised against the Trinamool. CPIM leaders claimed that their agents are being evicted from the booths.

Several voters were injured after BJP and ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) workers clashed on Monday morning in Uluberia’s Gangarampur Primary school booth. TMC claimed that BJP tried to influence voters but BJP denied the allegation.

Police and RAF reached the spot to tackle the situation. BJP candidate Anupam Mallick reached the spot after hearing the news. In an another incident, BJP and ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) workers clashed on morning at Joargari.

Voting picked up by noon in Uluberia Lok Sabha constituency and Noapara assembly seat in West Bengal with the seats registering 48 per cent and 55 per cent polling respectively in the by-election that is underway.

In Noapara’s Garulia, Sunil Singh looted all votes with his goons. Dilip ghosh also alleged that apart from Uluberia, votes has been looted at Amta and Bagnan. After all this TMC denied all allegation. Dilip Ghosh alleged that BJP did not give agents at many booths of Udaynarayanpur due to TMC’s ‘Dadagiri’. he said that bikers gang of ruling party influenced voters to cast vote in favour of ‘Didi’s Sarkar’. When asked about central paramilitary force, Dilip Ghosh said that government did not use force properly.

Sandeep Bandyopadhyay, BJP candidate from Noapara assembly constituency, claimed that voting was not done in the booth of 23, 24, 44, 45, 61, 128, 12, 154. He put questions against the voting procedure, he claimed that the voting process was completely closed. The Central forces did not have play a fair role thus the people was unable to vote. Only the Ink was being given to the hands but they didn’t have any role to play. So We are demanding re-election by protesting against the boothcapturing.

On the contrary,  Congress candidate has also demanded re-election. Gautam Bose, Congress candidate by voting in the booth number 4 of Garrulia 4, said, “The Trinamool does not allow the agent to sit in a booth. All the booths of Noapara have grabbed by the rulling party workers. As a result, we will appeal to the Election Commission for having re-election. ”

The TMC, which had been in power in the Uluberia seat since 2009, has fielded Sultan Ahmed’s wife Sajda this time. The CPI(M)-led Left Front has put up Sabiruddin Molla and Congress S K Madassar Hossain Warsi. The BJP has fielded its district committee leader Anupam Mallik from the seat. Five independents are also in the fray for the Lok Sabha seat.