Triumph Of BJP In Darjeeling

File Photo

Darjeeling: This is the third time in a row that a BJP candidate had won from Darjeeling in the Lok Sabha elections, even though it has no major support base in the hills.

The Darjeeling Lok sabha parliamentary constituency has a total of five Assembly constituencies with three falling in the hills: Darjeeling, Kalimpong and Kurseong with four in the plains namely Phasidewa, Siliguri, Chopra and Matigara-Naxalbari where the BJP candidate was seen leading in most of them.

The saffron party leading in four of the eight Assembly seats, where bypolls were held following the death of a legislator, and resignations by seven sitting MLAs who gave up their seats to contest the Lok Sabha polls.

At Bhatpara, Pawan Kumar Singh of the BJP defeated All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) candidate Madan Mitra.