Tripura Assembly Polls 2018: 74 % Voter Turnout Till 4 pm, Says EC

- Advertisement -

Update:74 percent voter turnout till 4 pm, says Election Commission. The Election Commission (EC) said that the poll percentage at 4 pm stood at 74 percent and it was likely to increase as people were still waiting in queues to vote. It added that there were several complaints of malfunctioning of EVMs, many of which were found to be false. As per reports  12 ballot units were replaced due to this malfunctioning. “No incidents of violence were reported from anywhere in the state. Two crude bombs were recovered which were disposed off,” EC added. The commission also said that in one constituency, polling would be held on 12 March, as it was rescheduled due to the demands of a candidate. VVPAT was used for the first time in all the polling booths in Tripura

Update: Amid the EVM issue the assembly polls of Tripura reached the finishline. As per sources the voting ended at 4pm. Total nearly 65% voter turnout till 3 pm.

Update: 46 per cent voter turnout till 1 pm.
Update: Reportedly, 144 engineers are being set to solve the EVM issues after several parties complaint about the EVM issues, in some booth voting couldn’t be started due to this.

- Advertisement -

Update: A local made bomb recovered from Banamalipur constituency amid the election.23 per cent voter turnout till 11 am.

Agartala: Chief minister Manik Sarkar starts his day with Ranbindra Sangeet and goes to cast his vote.

An approximate of 11 percent voter turnout till 9 a.m. has been recorded in the Tripura assembly elections on Sunday.

Meanwhile, Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar cast his vote at a polling booth in Agartala. He is an MLA from Dhanpur constituency.

Voting for the 59 out of 60 seats began at 7 a.m. at 3,214 polling stations across the state. It will go on until 4 p.m.

Polling in the Charilam constituency has been deferred due to the death of Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M) candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma. It will be held on March 12.

The Tripura elections will decide the fortunes of 292 candidates, including 23 women.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress are looking to root out the CPI-M, which has been ruling the state for the past 25 years.

In their attempt to remove the Manik Sarkar-led government from the state, the BJP has tied up with the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT). While the BJP is contesting from 51 seats, IPFT has been given the remaining nine seats.

The CPI-M has fielded candidates on 57 seats, leaving one each for its alliances.

The Congress, on the other hand, is fighting the battle alone.

The results of the polling will be declared on March 3 along with Nagaland and Meghalaya.