Trinamool’s Newly-Elected RS MPs Take Oath


New Delhi: The newly-elected MPs of All India Trinamool Congress took oath in Rajya Sabha on tuesday.

Out of the four MPs, Nadimul Haque has been elected to the Upper House of Parliament for a second term. The rest – Shantanu Sen, Subhashish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas – are first-time MPs. Nadimul Haque took his oath in Urdu while the others took oath in Bangla.

It may be mentioned, out of 16 Rajya Sabha seats from Bengal, Trinamool has 13 MPs.
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader and Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad took oath as a Rajya Sabha member on Tuesday. Rashtriya Janata Dal spokesperson Manoj Kumar Jha and Telugu Desam Party vice-president C.M. Ramesh also took oath as the members of the Upper House of the Parliament.

Both Ravi Shankar Prasad and Manoj Kumar Jha are among the six people declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from Bihar.

BJP candidates, who had been elected to the Upper House in the state include Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, GVL Narasimha Rao, Harnath Yadav, Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Kanta Kardam, Sakaldeep Rajbhar and Anil Aggarwal.