Trinamool Congress Gets ‘National Party’ Status: EC.


Kolkata: The Election Commission of India, on Friday has  recognised the Trinamool Congress as a national party since it has fulfilled one of the three conditions laid down in the Symbols Order, 1968.

According to the criteria set by the poll panel, a “national party” needs to win at least two per cent of the total seats in the Lok Sabha (11 seats) from at least three different states, or get at least six per cent votes in four states in addition to four Lok Sabha seats, or be recognised as a “state party” in four or more states. The Trinamool Congress has met the last condition. It is a state party in West Bengal, Tripura, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur.

At present, the Congress, BJP, BSP, NCP, CPI and CPM are recognised as national parties. The TMC, led by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, will join the club this month. This means the party will be entitled to exclusive allotment of its reserved symbol — flower and grass — to fight Assembly and Lok Sabha elections anywhere in the country.

Previous articleSushma Swaraj Leads Delegation For Mother Teresa’s Canonisation
Next articleSidharth Malhotra & Alia Bhatt Yet To Sign ‘Aashiqui 3’