TMC To Join Opposition Delegation Meeting With EC


Kolkata: Leaders of the Opposition parties will meet the top Election Commission officials over their suspicion of manipulation of EVMs on May 21 – two days ahead of the counting of votes of the 2019 Lok Sabha election on May 23.

According to reports, TDP chief and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu, Sharad Pawar and several leaders from Congress, Samajwadi Party, BSP, RJD etc will be part of the opposition delegation meeting the poll panel officials on Tuesday.

Naidu along with 21 opposition party leaders will meet the Election Commission officials around 3 pm on Tuesday. Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress will also be part of the opposition delegation. The party has confirmed that its Rajya Sabha MP Derek ‘O’ Brien will represent TMC in the delegation of opposition parties meeting the EC officials.

According to sources, leaders from Congress, TDP, Left parties, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and Trinamool Congress (TMC) will also informally meet to discuss the way forward in case the BJP-led NDA fails to get to the majority mark.

Ahmed Patel and Ghulam Nabi Azad of the Congress, Sharad Pawar of the NCP, N Chandrababu Naidu of the TDP, Satish Chandra Misra of the BSP, Sitaram Yechury of the Communist Party of India (Marxist), D Raja of the Communist Party of India (CPI) and Derek O’Brien of the TMC are expected to take part in Tuesday’s meeting among others.

Chandrababu Naidu, who met West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee at her residence on Monday as part of his efforts to cobble a non-BJP coalition post-poll, has requested the TMC chief to come to Delhi after May 23.