TMC MPs Walked Out Of Rajya Sabha


New Delhi:  Trinamool Congress (TMC) members today questioned why their party member Sukhendu Sekhar Roy was banished from the Rajya Sabha a day before while Congress members, who trooped to the chairman’s podium, were not punished. The TMC members later staged a walkout from the upper house.

The issue was raised soon after Rajya Sabha met by TMC leader Derek O’Brien, who termed it a violation of Article 14 of the constitution that deals with the right to equality before the law.

“One member was making point from his seat, and another group of members was in the well of house. My request for the ruling is this violates Article 14 of the constitution of India,” the TMC member said.

Deputy Chairman PJ Kurien, however, said chairman’s ruling cannot be questioned.
“Since it was ruling by chairman, I am not able to say anything … Ruling of chair cannot be questioned, cannot be discussed,” Mr Kurien said. TMC members then staged a walkout.

On Monday, Rajya Sabha Chairman M Hamid Ansari banished Mr Roy from the house, invoking Rule 255 for creating disturbance during the question hour.

Mr Roy was standing at his seat during the question hour, and repeatedly asked who the beneficiaries in the AgustaWestland bribes were.