TMC councillors boycott North Bengal festival


Balurghat: A section of the councilors of Balurghat Municipality today boycotted the the inauguration ceremony of North-Bengal festival. The festival was inaugurated by PWD Minister Shankar Chakraborty at 3 Pm on Thursday.

The area of the inauguration ceremony was main filled with the TMC leaders and supporters. the Programme was boycotted by a section of the councillors of TMC. Although Chairperson of Balurghat Municipality Chayanika Laha was present at the programme the other councilors of the TMC were not seen at the venue.

Councilor Shankar Dutta said that in 2013 the theme district of the festival was South Dinajpur. They were included in the committee of the 2014 festival but was not included this time. So the councilors decided to boycott the programme.