No Mukul In BJP’s RS List

- Advertisement -

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday renominated eight retiring members including seven ministers for the March 23 Rajya Sabha polls. But sad news for Mukul lovers. BJP panel did not include Mukul Roy’s name in Rajya Sabha Nominee list.

রাজ্যসভায় মুকুলকে স্থান দিল না বিজেপি

After he was appointed the convener of BJP’s panchayat committee, BJP leader Mukul Roy on Tuesday said his party will not “leave an inch of space” for the ruling Trinamool Congress in upcoming rural polls. But his expulsion raises questions among political think tanks.

- Advertisement -

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has been nominated from Uttar Pradesh while Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan has been shifted to Madhya Pradesh along with Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot.

Health Minister JP Nadda has been renominated from Himachal Pradesh and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad has been renominated from Bihar. Minister of State for Agriculture Parshottam Rupala and Minister of State for Chemical and Fertilizer Mansukh Bhai Mandaviya have been renominated from Gujarat.

Besides these seven ministers, the BJP has renominated its General Secretary Bhupender Yadav from Rajasthan. The BJP, on its own, can send back only one of the two retiring members – Prasad and Pradhan – from Bihar. It opted to renominate Prasad from the state and decided to shift Pradhan to MP.

On the other hand, Odisha’s ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on Wednesday nominated senior journalist Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, academician Achyuta Samanta and party spokesperson Prasanta Nanda as its nominees for the ensuing Rajya Sabha elections from the state.