Three-Tier Security For Mohun Bagan’s Election


Kolkata: Mohun Bagan club elections take place on October 28 at the Mohun Bagan club ground in Maidan. But the fight for the top-most post is already over as Swapan Sadhan Bose alias Tutu Bose has already been elected club secretary unopposed, after Anjan Mitra decided to withdraw his nomination on October 3.

But elections will be held for the rest of the 21 positions (including 11 executive committee members) under the jurisdiction of three retired justices namely, Sushanta Chatterjee, Dileep Seth and Ashim Kumar Roy. The venue, saw a stream of ministers, former judges and eminent people from various walks of life apart from sports buffs exercising their democratic rights.

The general election of the Mohabbaghan Club started under tight security. The election started From 10am on Sunday. High security beefed up in Bagan premises to avoid any untoward incident.

Laxmikant Shukla, former MP Sudhangshu Sil, state’s agriculture marketing minister Arup Roy caste their votes. Then Jyotipriya Mallick, Madan Mitra, Somen Mitra, Mohammed Salim and other dignitaries also caste their vote. Shukla, a former alumnus of Bagan said, ‘There is a different emotion with this club. Good wishes for the good work of the club in future.