Thakur, Karthik Back For Kiwi ODIs


New Delhi: Indian selectors on Saturday named a 15-man squad for the three-match ODI series against New Zealand. Young pacer Shardul Thakur and wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Karthik have made their way back into the national team. But KL Rahul, who was in the squad for the ODIs against Australia but didn’t play a single game, was left out.

Thakur, 25, is still part of the India A side which is taking out their Kiwi counterparts. The right-arm medium pacer has played two ODIs, taking a wicket. The selectors boosted the top order by naming Shikhar Dhawan, who had sought leave for the Australia ODIs to be with his ill wife, in the squad.

But India’s celebrated spin twins- R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja – continued to be left out as well, as spin trio of Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav and Axar Patel was retained.

India are currently the top-ranked ODI side in the world. They defeated Australia 4-1 in the just concluded five-match series at home. Before that, Kohli & Co blanked Sri Lanka 5-0 away.


IND ODI: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Shardul Thakur.