Suresh Raina To Replace Ambati Rayudu In India’s ODI Squad


New Delhi: All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Suresh Raina as Ambati Rayudu’s replacement in India’s ODI squad for the three-match series against England. The announcement came after Rayudu failed to clear his fitness test that was held at NCA, Bengaluru on Friday.

Raina, who played his last ODI against South Africa in October 2015, was one of the first players last year to have flunked the YoYo test (along with Yuvraj Sigh), has comfortably cleared it this time round.

Rayudu’s YoYo Test failure has come as a shock for many, especially after his successful IPL campaign (602 runs) with Chennai Super Kings. Rayudu scored a dismal 14 in the test while qualifying mark is 16.1.

India’s squad for ODIs against England: Virat Kohli (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav