State to go for Elections before pujas

- Advertisement -

Kolkata: Although the Municipal polls concluded recently throughout West Bengal, the elections to seven municipalities were left out. The seven municipalities have now been merged with three municipal corporations. Kulti , Ranigunj and Jamuria municipalities have been merged with Asansol Municipal Corporation while Bally Municipalily has been merged with Howrah Municipal Corporation.

Rajarhat-Gopalpur Municipality and parts Mahishbagan Panchayaat has been merged with Bidhannagar Municipality.

According to State Election Commissioner Sushanta Ranjan Upadhay October 3 has been decided as the election day. The state government has given a letter to the Election Commission in this regard to which the commission has not objected.