Stage set for 1st phase of polling for 49 Bihar seats


Patna: After high pitch bitter campaigning, the stage is all set for voting in 49 seats of Bihar Assembly elections in the first phase of the five-phase poll on Monday. Over one crore 35 lakhs voters will decide electoral fortune of 583 candidates including 54 women in this phase.  All parties have tried their utmost to woo voters ahead of the first round of polling.

Forty-nine constituencies spread over 10 districts will go to polls on Monday.  The districts that will go to polls in the first phase are Samastipur, Begusarai, Khagaria, Bhagalpur, Banka, Munger, Lakhisarai, Sheikhpura, Nawada and Jamui.

More than one lakh 20 thousand jawans of central para military forces have being deployed to ensure free and fair polls in 49 legislative constituencies in the first phase. Bihar will go for polls in a five phase election from 12th October and end on 5th November.

Counting of votes will take place on 8th November. The term of the current 243-member Bihar Assembly expires on 29th November.  Meanwhile, speaking to DD News, Bihar’s chief electoral officer Ajay Nayak said that Election commission has made fool proof arrangement to conduct free and fair polls in the state.

He appealed to voters to come out in large numbers and exercise their franchise on the polling day.

Previous articleIndian Warship Visits Egypt
Next articleChinaman’s Unique Revenge Against Ungrateful Sons