Special monitoring in the 695 sensitive polling stations of Delhi


New Delhi: The Delhi election commission said that the number of sensitive polling stations in the National Capital has increased from 677 in the 2013 elections to 695 in the upcoming elections. During the 2014 Lok Sabha Polls the number of critical polling station was 416.

Acording to Rupesh Thakur, officer on special mduty for Model code, the Northeast district has the most number of critical polling stations.

Thakur said that East Delhi’s Trilokpuri, which had witnessed communal violence in the last October, also figured in the list.

There are 11,763 polling stations throughout Delhi. The critical polling stations have been further classified as ‘high critical’ and ‘low critical’. Of the 695 critical stations, 522 has been termed as low critical and 173 as high critical. Keeping these factors in mind the EC will be deploying security forces, Micro Observers and install CCTV cameras at the stations.