SpaceX Successfully Launches World’s ‘Most Powerful Rocket’

0
385

Tallahassee: As Elon Musk had planned, the SpaceX Falcon Heavy rocket blasted off from Florida in its debut test flight on Tuesday. The 23-story tall Falcon Heavy roared off its launch pad at 3:45 p.m. EST (2:15am IST) at the Kennedy Space Centre in Cape Canaveral, from the same site used by NASA’s towering Saturn 5 rockets to carry Apollo missions to the moon more than 40 years ago.

Elon Musk’s SpaceX launched the Falcon Heavy from Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A) at NASA’s Kennedy Space Centre in Florida with a two and half-hour primary launch window that opened at 1:30pm EST (12:00am IST).

With the successful launch, the new SpaceX jumbo rocket is in-line to become the world’s most powerful launch vehicle in operation blasted off from Florida on Tuesday in its debut test launch. In addition to the primary mission of launching and delivering Falcon Heavy’s payload to its intended orbit, SpaceX also successfully landed Falcon Heavy’s side cores Landing Zones 1 and 2.

When the Falcon Heavy lifted off from the same NASA launchpad that was the base for the Apollo-era Moon missions of the 1960s and 1970s, it became the “most powerful operational rocket in the world by a factor of two,” SpaceX said.

---
---