Sonia Hosts ‘Dinner Diplomacy’ For 20 Opposition Leaders

- Advertisement -

New Delhi: UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi on Tuesday hosted a dinner for Opposition leaders at her New Delhi residence in 10 Janpath, as the Congress moves ahead ambitiously to form a united alliance to counter the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP)-led NDA in 2019 General Elections.

Former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, Congress president Rahul Gandhi and other senior leaders including Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mallikarjun Kharge was also present at the dinner.

The party was attended by Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar, RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav, Samajwadi Party’s Ramgopal Yadav, BSP’s Satish Mishra, DMK’s Kanimozhi, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha’s Babulal Marandi, AIUDF’s Badruddin Ajmal,Rashtriya Lok Dal chief Ajit Singh, Hindustani Awam Morcha’s Jitan Ram Manjhi and NC’s Omar Abdullah.

- Advertisement -

“Dinner hosted by Sonia ji for Opposition parties should not be seen from the prism of politics, it was for friendship and better dialogue between parties,” said Congress spokesperson Randeep Surjewala.

Sonia’s dinner diplomacy is being seen as an effort to forge a broader front against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) ahead of the 2019 general elections.

This dinner hosted by Sonia Gandhi for opposition parties should not be seen through the prism of politics, it was for friendship and better dialogue between parties, the Congress leader said.

The non-Congress leaders who attended Sonia’s dinner party are: Sharad Pawar of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Ram Gopal Yadav of Samajwadi Party (SP), Sharad Yadav- Hindustan Tribal Party (HTP), Sudip Bandyopadhyay of Trinamool Congress (TMC), Baddrauddin Ajmal of All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF), Tejashwi Yadav and Misa Bharti of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Omar Abdullah of National Conference (NC), Hemant Soren of Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM), Ajit Singh of Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), D Raja of Communist Party of India (CPI), Md Salim of Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), Kanimozhi of Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), PK Kunhalikutty of Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), Satish Chandra Mishra of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Babu Lal Madandi of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM), Ramachandran of Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Jitan Ram Manjhi of Hindustan Awam Morcha (HAM), Dr Kupender Reddy of Janata Dal- Secular (JD-S), a representative of Kerala Congress (M).