Shurhozelie Liezitsu Sworn In As Nagaland CM


Kohima: Nagaland People’s Front (NPF) president Shurhozelie Liezitsu sworn in as the new Nagaland Chief Minister, on Wednesday.

Shurhozelie Liezeitsu was invited by Governor P B Acharya to form the next government after the ruling Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) unanimously elected him leader of its legislature party, earlier this week. T R Zeliang had stepped down as Chief Minister on Sunday in the wake of violent protests that broke out when his government wanted to hold municipal elections with 33 per cent reservation for women.

Various tribal groups opposed the civic elections on the ground that certain provisions of Nagaland Municipal Act framed under Article 243(T) of the Constitution allegedly infringed upon Naga tradition and customs that are protected under Article 371(A).

Previous articleNo Plans To Introduce Rs 1,000 Notes: Shaktikanta Das
Next articleTN Assembly Ruckus: DMK Goes On Hunger Strike