Shiv Sena defeats Former Maha CM at Bandra East


Mumbai: Shiv Sena candidate Trupti Sawant defeated the 16th Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Narayan Rane, who came to power in 1999 at the Bandra (E) Assembly poll in Mumbai while in Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal seat of Maharashtra’s Sangli district, NCP nominee Suman Patil, the widow of NCP stalwart late RR Patil, won by a comfortable margin of 1.12 lakh votes.Sena candidate Sawant, the widow of former MLA Bala Sawant whose death necessitated the bypoll in Bandra(E) seat, defeated the Congress heavyweight by over 19,000 votes. The constituency in suburban Mumbai houses the residence of Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, ‘Matoshree’.

The Bandra (East) by-election was crucial for Rane who had lost the state Assembly polls last year from his home turf Sindhudurg district in coastal Konkan. A total of 10 candidates were in the fray in Bandra (East) and nine in Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal constituency. The bypoll for the two seats in Maharashtra was held on April 11.

Previous articleGolden Lotus Award winning Director dies at 56
Next articleAnushka’s NH-10 leads to Beijing