Sections 144 Imposed In Srinagar’s 6 Police Station Areas


Srinagar: The authorities on Saturday imposed restrictions in six police station areas of Srinagar’s city. The decision in this regard was taken on Friday late night, sources said.

The district administration officials said, restrictions under section 144 have been imposed in Nowhatta, Mahraj Gunj, Safa Kadal, Khanyar, Maisuma and Rainawari police stations.

- Advertisement -

Also Read: Encounter Continues In J &K’s Sopore, A Militant Killed

Pertinently, resistance leaders Syed Ali Geelani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Yasin Malik are scheduled to depart to New Delhi to court arrest at NIA headquarters in protest against its raids and arrests in the state.

Earlier on Friday, Jamia Masjid in Nowhatta area of Downtown Srinagar was sealed. Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, who heads the Muttahida Majlis-e-Ulema (MMU), an amalgam of various religious bodies, has called for protests against the killings of Rohingya Muslims in Myanmar.

Read More: Restrictions Imposed In And Around Nowhatta Jamia Masjid