Sasikala Expels 20 AIADMK ‘Rebels’


Chennai: Hours after the Supreme Court upheld her conviction in disproportionate assets case, AIADMK general secretary V K Sasikala on Tuesday expelled 20 rebel leaders from the primary membership of the party.

However, 12 MPs and eight MLAs, who supported chief minister O Panneerselvam, were spared. The only MLAs who were expelled are Panneerselvam and school education minister K Pandiarajan.

In a two-page statement, Sasikala said the cadres should not have any truck with the expelled leaders in future. “The expelled members have violated party principles and brought disrepute,” she said.

The sacked leaders’ list included the names of former Speaker P H Pandian, former ministers C Ponnaiyan, Natham R Viswanathan, K P Munusamy, P Mohan, K A Jayapaul, K P Rajendra Prasad and Parithi Ilamvazhuthi.

Former Union minister E Ponnusamy, legal wing former secretary P H Manoj Pandian, minorities wing former secretary J C D Prabhakar, former MLAs K Thavasi, S K Selvam, K Ayyappan and S Muthuselvi, MGR youth wing joint secretary K A K Mukil, North Chennai (South District) presidium chairman V Neelakandan and Madurai rural district former secretary M Muthuramalingam also faced the axe.

Incidentally, the Panneerselvam camp has already moved the Election Commission of India seeking its intervention not to consider the claims of Sasikala that she was appointed as the general secretary of the party, citing the bylaws of the AIADMK.

Previous articleIndian Origin Scientist Held, Forced To Unlock Phone At US Border
Next articleIconic Nokia 3310 Set To Make Comeback On February 26