Saradha, Narada Failed To Thwart TMC Victory


Kolkata: A spirited campaign by the opposition, trying to corner the Trinamool on the corruption plank seem to have found little favour with voters in West Bengal.

Mamata Banerjee’s TMC is well set to form the next government in the state. The party is inching towards two-third majority in the 294-member assembly.

Leaders whose name cropped up in the Narada sting are ahead after initial rounds. Subhendu Adhikary is leading in Nandigram while Firhad Hakim has surged ahead from Kolkata Port. Former minister Madan Mitra, in jail for alleged involvement in the Saradha scam, is leading from Kamarhati in early.

Mamata herself is leading by nearly 1500 votes after the first round from Bhabanipore. Kolkata mayor Sovan Chatterjee, ministers Partha Chatterjee, Amit Mitra and Jyotipriya Mallik are also leading in their resective seats.

TMC candidate Abdul Rezzak Mollah, who switched over from the CPM is leading in Bhangor, South 24 Parganas. The Left is staring at a major upset, as lead campaigner Surya kanta Mishra is trailing from Nayarangarh.

BJP seem to be making small in-roads, with Rahul Sinha in Jorasanko seat in Kolkata and Locket Chatterjee in Mayureswar leading in early trends.