UP Polls Phase 2: SP Hopes To Repeat 2012 Performance


Lucknow: The Samajwadi Party hopes to repeat its 2012 performance in the 11 districts of Uttar Pradesh, where polling is underway in the second phase of assembly election. Most of the 67 seats in these districts are part of the Rohilkhand region where the SP had won 34 seats in last election and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) had come a distant second with 17.

“The voting is on in the second phase, and the news that I’m getting is that cycle (Samajwadi Party’s poll symbol) is gaining momentum,” UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav said in a rally in Unnao on Wednesday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) which is making a strong pitch to make inroads in the region had won 10 seats in 2012 while the Congress, which is now contesting the polls in alliance with SP, had barely managed to secure four seats.

Regional parties like the Ittehadul-E-Millat Council and the Peace Party had won one seat each.

Muslim population is sizeable in these constituencies in the second phase and they could hold the key to victory.

In all, 721 candidates are in the fray in this phase. The key seats are Sambhal, Moradabad, Rampur, Bareilly, Amroha, Pilibhit, Lakhimpur Kheri, Shahjahanpur, Bijnore, Saharanpur and Budayun.

Previous article‘Swift & Ruthless’ Response Will Be Given To Terrorists: PM
Next articleKarnataka Govt Welcomes SC verdict In DA Case