Roopa Ganguly Nominated To Rajya Sabha


New Delhi: Roopa Ganguly, the actor and BJP leader, who rose to fame with her ‘Draupadi’ role in the TV series Mahabharata, has been nominated to the Upper House of the Parliament.

Actor and BJP leader Roopa Ganguly has been nominated to the Rajya Sabha or Upper House of Parliament. Ganguly, who had unsuccessfully contested the West Bengal Assembly elections this year on BJP ticket, was nominated by President Pranab Mukherjee to the seat vacated by cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, who resigned recently following differences with the BJP leadership.

Four months ago, Ms Ganguly had lost the first election she fought as a BJP candidate in the West Bengal assembly polls to a cricketer, local star Laxmi Ratan Shukla, who was fielded by Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress.

Known most for her fiery portrayal of the mythological Draupadi in a television serial Mahabharat that ran for almost two years, Ms Ganguly’s short innings in politics – she joined the BJP last year – has been rather dramatic.

On voting day in Bengal in April, Roopa Ganguly was caught on camera in Howrah Uttar, the constituency she was contesting, slapping a woman supporter of the Trinamool Congress.
The next month she was attacked near Kolkata, allegedly by workers of the Trinamool Congress, and suffered head injuries.

In Parliament, Ms Ganguly joins actors like Rekha and Suresh Gopi from Kerala who was nominated along with Mr Sidhu in April this year.

In April, the government had nominated Subramanian Swamy, Narendra Jadhav, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Suresh Gopi, Swapan Dasgupta and Mary Kom as the new Rajya Sabha members.

The government had also nominated Pranav Pandya, head of All World Gayatri Pariwar, as Rajya Sabha member in May but he declined it. In his place, the government then nominated Sambhaji Raje, a descendant of Shivaji, to the Rajya Sabha in June.

Sidhu had resigned from the Rajya Sabha in July, about three months after his nomination, and had formed a new front Aawaaz-e-Punjab.

Nominated members of the Rajya Sabha are drawn from fields such as literature, science, sports, art and social service. There are 12 nominated members in the House of Elders.