Remaining Municipal elections on June 16: HC


Kolkata: The Calcutta High Court on Friday rejected the state government’s plea of seeking more time in holding the election of 7 municipal bodies. A division bench of Chief Justice Manjula Chellur and Justice Joymalyo Bagchi rejected an application for modification of the court’s earlier order that had directed the state government to complete the election process to these bodies within two months. The court had ordered the elections to be held within two months. As such, the election process to the municipal bodies of Raniganj, Jamuria, Asansol, Kulti, Bidhananagar, Rajarhat-Gopalpur and Bally have to be completed by June 16.