Re-Poll In One Kolkata Polling Center: EC


Kolkata: Election Commission has announced re-polling in one polling station under Kolkata North parliamentary constituency on Wednesday, according to a notification.

The parliamentary constituency voted in the seventh phase on May 19. As per the notice, the re-poll will be held in Room no. 1 polling station at Sanskrit Collegiate School under the Jorasanko Assembly segment. Polling will be held from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m.

There are 1,862 polling stations in Kolkata North parliamentary constituency. Election Commission of India (EC) said on Monday that 200 companies of central forces will stay back in West Bengal to deal with any possibility of post-poll violence in the state.

EC Special Police Observer Vivek Dubey made the announcement and said that the 200 companies of central forces to be retained in the state will also ensure that counting of votes across West Bengal is done in a fair, orderly and peaceful manner. The personnel would be distributed across the state and the remaining 510 companies will move out.