Rajya Sabha Polls: Voting In 6 States


New Delhi: The polls are being conducted to fill 58 Rajya Sabha seats, 33 candidates from 10 states have already been declared elected on March 15.

Seven out of 33 declared candidates are union ministers in the Narendra Modi-led government, including Ravi Shankar Prasad and Prakash Javadekar. For the 58 Rajya Sabha seats to be filled, 33 candidates from 10 states have been unanimously elected. Voting for the remaining 25 seats will be held in six states. They are, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Telangana.

- Advertisement -

The Rajya Sabha vacancies next month include 17 from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and 12 from the Congress Party.

Voting for the election to the rest 25 Rajya Sabha seats, will be held from 9 am to 4 pm and counting of the votes will be conducted after 5 pm in the respective state assemblies.
According to survey, the BJP is assured to win eight out of 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh. A total 11 candidates, including Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley, are in the fray.

Know more about the contestants

Uttar Pradesh

Total seat – 10


BJP – Arun Jaitley, Ashok Bajpai, Vijaya Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Anil Jain, Harnath Singh Yadav, GVL Narsimha Rao

BSP – Bhim Rao Ambedkar

SP – Jaya Bachchan

West Bengal

Total seats – 5

Candidates –

Trinamool Congress – Nadimul Haq, Subhashish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas and Santunu Sen

Congress – Abhishek Manu Singhvi

CPM – Rabin Deb


Total seats – 3


TRS – J Santosh Kumar, B Lingiah Yadav and B Prakash Mudiraj

Congress – Balram Naik


Total seats – 2


BJP – Sameer Urnav, Pradeep Kumar Santhalia

Congress – Dheeraj Sahu


Total seats – 4


Congress – L Hanumanthiah, Naseer Hussain and G C Chandrashekhar

BJP – Rajeev Chandrashekhar


Total – 1 seat


BJP – Saroj Pande

Congress – Lekhram Sahu