Rajasthan By-Poll: Congress Wins 3 Seats In Rajasthan, Massive Blow To BJP


Update: “Bypoll set the trends for upcoming assembly election in Rajasthan. He said Congress will win more than 150 seats in next assembly election. Congress not only won 2 parliamentary and one assembly seat, the party took lead in 17 assembly seats,” Govind Dotasara, Congress.

Update: Congress’s Karan Singh wins Alwar Lok Sabha constituency seat, defeats BJP’s Jaswant Yadav by 1,56,319 votes. 

- Advertisement -

Updates: Blow for BJP as Congress wins Mandalgarh assembly seat, leads in Ajmer, Alwar. In a spectacular showing, the Congress races ahead of the BJP in the Lok Sabha constituencies of Ajmer and Alwar and the Mandalgarh Assembly seat in Rajasthan. Congress candidates led from the beginning in both the Lok Sabha seats and edged past the Bharatiya Janata Party in Mandalgarh after initially trailing at the second spot, Election Commission officials said. Even as the vote count continued, Karan Singh Yadav of the Congress had secured 245,774 votes in Alwar against Jaswant Singh Yadav’s (BJP) 192,924 votes. Raghu Sharma of the Congress had 154,336 votes in his kitty against the 128,291 bagged by the BJP’s Ram Swaroop Lamba in Ajmer. Vivek Dhakar of the Congress led by 2,112 votes in Mandalgarh. He had 45,011 votes against 42,999 votes of the BJP.

Update: Mandalgarh bypoll results: 17 out of 21 rounds of vote count done; 17 Out of 21 rounds of vote count is done in Mandalgarh Assembly seat of Rajasthan. According to trends, Congress’ Vivek Dhakar is leading in this Rajasthan seat by 3,282 votes.

Alwar bypoll result -After 43.68 percent vote count, Congress is leading by 59,935 votes. Congress candidate Karan Singh Yadav is leading with 2,66,814 votes, BJP’s Jaswant Singh is second with 2,06,879.Alwar Lok Sabha constituency in Rajasthan saw a turnout of 61.86 percent.

Update: Mandalgarh by poll Result: BJP’s Shakti Singh Hada is leading with 7241 votes, Independent candidate Gopal Malviya in second place and Congress candidate Vivek Dhakad is at the third place in this Rajasthan constituency

Update: Congress is leading in both Alwar and Ajmer Constituencies… Ajmer and Alwar Lok Sabha constituencies saw a turnout of 65.2 and 61.86 percent. Rajasthan minister Jaswant Singh Yadav is the BJP candidate from Alwar while former union minister Sanwar Lal Jats son Ramswaroop Lamba is the saffron party nominee from Ajmer. Former MLA Raghu Sharma (Ajmer) and Karan Singh Yadav (Alwar) were the other two candidates of the Rahul Gandhi-led party in these bypolls.

Jaipur: The counting of votes for the Rajasthan bypolls in two Lok Sabha and one assembly constituency – a crucial contest ahead of the state elections due later this year – will be held on Thursday.

The counting of votes of the Alwar and Ajmer Lok Sabha seats will be done in the respective constituencies, whereas it will take place in Bhilwara for the Mandalgarh assembly seat, and the election results will be declared on the Election Commission website.

A total of 42 candidates are in the fray for the bypolls to the three seats, the election to which was held on Monday.

Both the BJP and Congress, led by chief minister Vasundhara Raje and state party chief Sachin Pilot respectively, campaigned aggressively, spending weeks in the constituencies.

In the morning security personnel deployed outside the counting centre in Ajmer. The bypolls on all the three seats were necessitated after the death of BJP MPs Sanwarlal Jat from Ajmer, Mahant Chand Nath Yogi from Alwar, and MLA Kirti Kumari from Mandalgarh.

In Alwar, Jaswant Singh Yadav of BJP and Karan Singh Yadav of the Congress have contested the election, while Raghu Sharma of the Congress and BJP’s Ram Swaroop Lamba locked horns in Ajmer.

In Mandalgarh, BJP’s Shakti Singh Hada and Congress’s Vivek Dhakad are poised for a tough fight.