Raiganj Lok Sabha Constituency: Candidates For 2019 LS Poll


Once a Congress stronghold, the Raiganj Lok Sabha seat is set to witness a four-cornered contest this time, with the candidates of major political parties in the state pitted against each other in a neck-and-neck battle.Since 1952, Congress candidates have won the seat 13 times including the two terms for party stalwart Priya Ranjan Dasmunsi in 1999 and 2004. His wife Deepa Dasmunsi also represented the constituency in Parliament for a term.

Candidate Identity:

1. Mohammed Salim

Party: left front
Age : 61 years
Occupation : MP, Politics
Education : MA in Philosophy from Jadavpur University
Political career : Studentof Jadavpur University and started his politics since college life. He was also a Minister in the Left Government.
Hobbies : Public relations, Reading Book
Name of wife : Rosina Khatun
First job : Job creation

2. Deepa Dasmunsi

Political party : Congress
Age : 58 years
Education : MA, Gold Medalist from Rabindra Bharati
Profession : Politics
Hobbies : Cooking, gardening, listening music
Husband’s name : Priyaranjan Dasmunsi
First Job : Start the work of much-awaited AIIMS

3. Kanailal Agarwal

Political party : Trinamool Congress
Age : 64 years
Education : M.Com, LLB
Occupation : Business
Political Career : He was chairman of Islampur municipality on the Congress ticket. Later, he became Chairman of the Islampur Municipality on the Trinamool ticket.
Hobbies : Public Relations
First win : Delivering the work of Mamta Bandyopadhyay to the people.

4. Debashree Chowdhury

Political party : BJP
Age : 48 years
Education : MA, Burdwan University
Occupation : Consultancy, Politics
Political Career : Involved with politics in the age of 18.
Hobbies: Public relation
First win : improve railway communication