Puducherry Polls: DMK-Cong To Form Government


Puducherry: DMK-Congress combine will form the government after crossing the halfway mark of 15 seats. DMK-Congress has won 17 seats while AINRC has won 8 seats.

Pushing behind ruling AINRC, Congress-DMK combine cruised to victory winning 17 of the 30 constituencies in the assembly elections.

AIADMK, which fought the elections on its own, won four seats while an independent emerged the victor in one constituency.

Prominent among the successful Congress candidates were former chief minister and leader of the opposition in the outgoing assembly V Vaithilingam (Kamaraj Nagar), Pradesh Congress Commitee President A Namassivayam (Villianur).

In Karaikal South constituency, five-time DMK MLA A M H Nazeem lost to AIADMK’s K A U Asana by a slender margin of 20 votes. Congress heavyweight E Valsaraj lost to independent V Ramachandran in Mahe.