Proteas Named Full Strength Squad For India Test


Capetown: South Africa named a full-strength squad for the first test against India beginning January 5 at Newlands, Capetown. Faf Du Plessis will lead the side boasting of all first choice players for the first time in two years. The 15-man squad consists of six pace bowlers, seven batsmen, a lone spinner and one specialist wicketkeeper.

Du Plessis and Steyn, who missed the one-off day-night test against Zimbabwe due to illness makes a comeback into the side. Fast bowlers Chris Morris have also found a place in the 15-man squad to join a formiddable pace attack comprising Steyn, Morkel, Rabada,Philander and Phehlukwayo.

AB DeVilliers, who played his first test in almost two years will form the backbone of the batting with Du Plessis, Amla and Dean Elgar. There is a stiff competition in pace and batting department with seven batsmen fighting for the five available spots and six pacers vying for three or four spots in the eleven depending upon the team composition. Quinton De Kock, who picked up an injury during the Zimbabwe test, has been named as the specialist wicket-keeper in the side.

The Proteas will convene in Capetown on January 2 to begin their preparations for the most awaited series of the summer against the World no. 1 side since two years.

Squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock, Theunis de Bruyn, AB de Villiers, Dean Elgar, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn.