Proteas in India: Eden to host T20 against SA on OCT 8


New Delhi: India will be hosting South Africa for a marathon series at the end of the year, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Monday jointly announced on Monday.The tour will last for 72 days and consist of three T20 International matches, five ODIs and four Test matches.

“I am delighted to confirm, together with the BCCI, the Proteas’ itinerary for our tour of India later this year,” said CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat.”This will be the longest tour that we have undertaken to India and the first time we will play a four-Test series. Both countries are now working to develop this into an icon series. Another first is that we will be playing our first T20 International match against India in India.

- Advertisement -

“Of note will be the second Test match to be played in Bangalore where South Africa previously secured our only ever Test Series win over India in India in 2000. If all works out this will be AB de Villiers’ 100th Test match and it could not be a more appropriate venue as it has become AB’s second home through his involvement with the Royal Challengers Bangalore.

“Being a landmark tour in the young history of Cricket South Africa, I wish to thank the BCCI for all the hard work that has been put in to scheduling this tour and I now look forward to the Test series becoming an iconic one.”


Tuesday, September 29, D/N, T20 Tour match, Delhi (1:30 PM, IST)

Friday, October 2, D/N, 1st T20 International, Dharamshala (1: 30 PM IST)

Monday, October 5, D/N, 2nd T20 International, Cuttack (1:30 PM IST)

Thursday, October 8, D/N, 3rd T20 International, Kolkata (1:30PM IST)

Sunday, October 11, Day, 1st ODI, Kanpur (9AM IST)

Thursday, October 14, D/N, 2nd ODI, Indore (1: 30 PM IST)

Sunday, October 18, D/N, 3rd ODI, Rajkot (1:30 PM IST)

Thursday, October 22, D/N, 4th ODI, Chennai (1:30 PM IST)

Sunday, October 25, D/N, 5th ODI, Mumbai (1:30 PM IST)

Friday, October 30-Saturday, October 31, Two-day Tour match v Board President’s XI, Mumbai (9:30 AM IST)

Thursday, November 5-Monday, November 9, 1st Test match, Mohali (9:30 AM IST)

Saturday, November 14-Wednesday, November 18, 2nd Test match, Bangalore (9:30 AM IST)

Wednesday, November 25-Sunday, November 29, 3rd Test match, Nagpur (9:30 AM IST)

Thursday, December 3-Monday, December 7, 4th Test match, Delhi (9:30 AM IST)