Prez to honour Srijit and Kangana for their brilliance


New Delhi: The 62nd National Film Awards are scheduled to be held on May 3 at Vigyan Bhawan, where Indian President Pranab Mukherjee will confer the awards to the winners. The president will also be giving a Dada Saheb Phalke award. Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting Rajyavardhan Rathore will also be present on the occasion.

This year’s best feature film award will be given to the Marathi film, Court directed by Chaitanya Tamhane. Mary Kom will be awarded with the award for the best popular film directed by Omung Kumar.

Srijit Mukherji will be awarded for the best director for his Bengali film Chotushkone. The award for best actor will be given to Sanchari Vijay for the Kannada film Nanu Avanalla Avalu and the award for best actress will be given to Kangana Ranaut for the Hindi film Queen.

The National Film Awards are held annually on May 3, honouring the first feature film, Raja Harishchandra which was released on May 3 1913.